My Blog Turns One: A Year of Refection

A year ago today I decided to create a blog detailing my life and struggle with the chronic illnesses and disabilities that will most likely take my life. Back then I never in my wildest dreams could have imagined that my words would not only reach over 9,500 people from more than 40 different countries across the world, but also help to make connections that I am certain will last a lifetime. And all this while advocating for change and awareness. Sharing my truth in such a vulnerable, uncensored and public way has allowed me to transform into the confident, strong being I now know that I was meant to be.

I can’t tell you the amount of negative feedback I have received:
“You should get a life.”
“Don’t you have anything better to do?”
“You’re just one person. How could you possibly make a difference?”
“But you don’t look sick.”
It goes on and on as I’m sure it will continue to, on and on.

But what these individuals fail to see is that I am making a difference with every unfiltered story I bust out in some random coffee shop. The reality of existing in the way that I, and so many others, do is far from pretty. In fact, it’s many people’s worst nightmare; a life ruined by illness. They look on with pity and a strange sadness deep within their eyes that I do not quite understand yet. But I have never viewed this huge life alteration in the way that so many others seem to perceive it. That’s not to say it doesn’t absolutely and utterly suck sometimes or that I do not struggle because I do, incredibly. I have learned that it’s okay to be sad sometimes, to be devastated sometimes, to be so incredibly angry sometimes… as long as, at the end of the day, I keep going. It is because of this that I consider myself not simply to just be surviving, but to be thriving. 

I do not share my story with an unequivocal transparency to gain the pity of my readers, but rather quite the opposite. I share the reality of my situation in the hopes that my words will resonate with others who are similarly struggling both with the illnesses that wreak havoc on their poor and undeserving bodies as well as the disturbing stigma that envelops the chronic, terminal and mental illnesses oppressing each and every one of us. Perhaps that is why we are the ones’ who have been destined to battle these often invisible diseases; our own cells launching calculated attacks on the very body that they are created from. Perhaps we are the strong ones. Perhaps, just perhaps, WE are the ones who were made to stand up and fight for the right to be accepted, to be loved, to be noticed, to be cared for. We are it and we so much more than what the outside eye can see.

So, thank you. Thank you to everyone who has helped grow my once tiny idea, into a platform that has reached to promote hope, change and the will to fight for one another. I could not do it without you all. There are no words to describe the sheer amount of gratitude and love that has filled my heart.

3 thoughts on “My Blog Turns One: A Year of Refection

  1. ishellhorn says:

    You’ve always had a way with words. Thank you for starting your blog, Aleigha. It makes a difference when you’re out there proving that being sick doesn’t mean life is over. And honestly it’s just so amazing to have a glimpse into the life of an old friend. Seeing how artistic and thoughtful you are, how much of an advocate you are for others, I’m a little envious but mostly impressed 😉 keep it up.. You’re changing the world and the people around you for the better.

    Like

  2. kurtkgilbert says:

    Thank you Aleigha for your words. I find new strength in myself when reading your writings. I’m truly grateful that you’ve shared so honestly and openly about your struggles and your growth. I’m sure I speak for many people who benefit because of you and your efforts. We are a sensitive community and your voice is powerful. My heart, our hearts, are thanking you.

    Like

  3. Michelle York says:

    Thank you so much Aleigha for sharing your journey. Your words are amazing and touch my heart. Your attitude is infectious and you make the most of a day given your situation. You are an inspiration to many and greatly loved by many. Your words make the open the eyes of people on how attitude is everything and you just kerp going!!!! Beautiful and amazing young woman!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

